Island spider

Spider on Magaruque Island, Bazaruto Archipelago, Mozambique ©WMB

According to WikipediaSpiders are found worldwide on every continent except for Antarctica, and have become established in nearly every habitat with the exception of air and sea colonization.”. They aren’t kidding! The above spider (a Golden Orb species, I think) was found on the beach on Magaruque Island in the Bazaruto Archipelago (off the Mozambique coast). Magaruque Island is tiny (its area is less than 2 km²) and lies some 9.9 km east of the Mozambican mainland. How did these spiders get here? Possibly they came over with the building materials brought to construct the reed huts or shelters on the island?

Read the Mozambique 2011 Series:

About lisa@notesfromafrica

I live on the Southern coast of South Africa, and write about the things that interest, amuse or inspire me. You can find me at http://notesfromafrica.wordpress.com and https://southerncape.wordpress.com (my photoblog)
This entry was posted in Nature ● Environment, Photography and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Island spider

  1. Lu says:

    Right, that’s it settled then… I’m off to Antarctica!!
    I once walked into a “strand” of one of these golden orbs – it got me across the forehead. I literally re-bounded, the thread was so strong… bleurgh…

    • Africa is definitely the wrong place to be if you want to avoid spiders! We’ve got some nice big orb spiders in our garden and under the roof. Am fine with them as long as they stay out there.

  2. Rifqi says:

    I’m jealous, I want huge spiders too. Can you put one in a box and send it here? :p

    • Really – you sure about that?! 🙂 Where is “here” that you don’t have spiders – or at least not big spiders?

      Thanks for visiting my blog and leaving a comment!

      • Rifqi says:

        Here is in Sweden. We only have little sissy spiders that would be terrified of your spider :p

      • That’s true – as they always say “Africa isn’t for sissies”! 😉 I see from your site that you like photographing bugs and spiders. Is it a professional interest, or just a hobby?

        I have a couple of other spider stories/photographs on my other blog. You can find them here: http://notesfromafrica.wordpress.com/tag/spiders/

      • Rifqi says:

        It’s just a hobby, only got started a few weeks ago when the bugs started waking up after the winter. I had a look at your other posts, I see that the bugs only come in the sizes large and larger over there :p

      • Ah, the bugs just all look big in the photos! 😉 Actually, it’s the smaller spiders that you have to beware of. We have button/widow spiders here which aren’t very big, just poisonous.

Leave a Reply

