The Ark

An old boat propped up in the shallows at Vilanculos, Mozambique ©2011 WMB

I was unable to find out what the story was behind this old boat at Vilanculos, Mozambique. Some people speculated that they might be re-building it, but it has been there for years and seems too deteriorated for that.

Recent posts in the Mozambique 2011 Series are:

About lisa@notesfromafrica

I live on the Southern coast of South Africa, and write about the things that interest, amuse or inspire me. You can find me at http://notesfromafrica.wordpress.com and https://southerncape.wordpress.com (my photoblog)
This entry was posted in Photography, Travel and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to The Ark

  1. amblerangel says:

    That is a great picture! I love it!

  2. That’s one heck of a shot! Love it!

  3. Lu says:

    I totally agree – it really does seem beyond repair now!

  4. Anna-Marie says:

    Lisa and Willie, I enjoyed your Moz blog so much!

    My family and I have wonderful memories of the most amazing holidays in Mozambique, Our first experience was in 2000, shortly after they experienced massive floods. We had prior to the devastation planned to qualify as divers at Pandane, near Inhambane, and nothing was going to stop us. The fact that all the roads were washed away, was a huge problem! Nevertheless, we qualified.

    The dhow reminded me of the small guy who carried all 6’2″ of Francois from the shore to his water taxi, determined not to miss out on a passenger’s fare!

    Willie, the border post challenge is worth the reward waiting on the other side!

    • Hi Anna-Marie!

      Thanks for reading the Mozambique series. I am glad to hear that it brought back happy memories of your holidays there. Trying to imagine somebody carrying Francois! 🙂

      Thanks for leaving a comment.

      Lisa.

Leave a Reply

