If you thought I was kidding . . .

In yesterday’s post I wrote about hyenas sniffing and pawing at my canvas “cabin”, and I’ve previously told stories of predators wandering through the other wilderness camps we have stayed in. If you thought I was kidding, you need to take a look at the photograph in this post (see Camping in the Kalahari). As there is no camping allowed in the unfenced camps on the South African side of the Kgalagadi Transfrontier Park, I’m assuming the photo was taken on the Botswana side of the Transfrontier Park.

So do you think he knew anything before the flash went off? Wild animals can be really quiet when they want to be. I now fully understand why one is told to use a torch at night and take a good look around before venturing out of one’s cabin/tent!

Update: You can read a continuation of this story at HERE.

About lisa@notesfromafrica

I live on the Southern coast of South Africa, and write about the things that interest, amuse or inspire me. You can find me at http://notesfromafrica.wordpress.com and https://southerncape.wordpress.com (my photoblog)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to If you thought I was kidding . . .

  1. Wow. I can just imagine the look on the photographer’s face when they check the LCD review of the shot… ha!

    • As I’ve later found of from news reports of the incident, these young lions were in the camp all night. So by the time this photo was taken, the guys we well aware of their presence. You can link to the report of the incident here.

      On a different forum, one of the guys that was there explained that the next morning they became aware of the adult lions of the pride close by. These youngsters were just having fun terrorizing the tourists! 🙂

  2. amblerangel says:

    Little award your way- you can quietly ignore or publish… either way- love your blog as you know! http://wp.me/p14vOu-MU

Leave a Reply

