De Hoop Nature Reserve

Map: De Hoop Nature Reserve, South Africa

Only three hours from Cape Town lies a special nature reserve situated in the Overberg region, near the southern tip of Africa. De Hoop Nature Reserve is approximately 34 000 ha in size and one of the largest natural areas managed by CapeNature.

It is a favourite destination for hikers, cyclists, bird watchers and during the winter and early summer months, whale watchers.

The adjacent De Hoop Marine Protected Area, which extends three nautical miles (5 km) out to sea, is one of the largest marine protected areas in Africa and provides a sanctuary for a vast and fascinating array of marine life.

De Hoop Nature Reserve is situated east of Bredasdorp, approximately 260 km from Cape Town.  (Text from Cape Nature Site)

To read more go to the Cape Nature Site – click here.

Koppie Alleen (©2010 WMB)

Driftwood (©2010 WMB)

On the beach (©2010 WMB)

Windswept (©2010 WMB)

Ripples in the Sand (©2010 WMB)

On the Rocks (©2010 WMB)

Credits: Photographs: WMB, photo processing: Lisa @ Notes from Africa | Photoblog

About lisa@notesfromafrica

I live on the Southern coast of South Africa, and write about the things that interest, amuse or inspire me. You can find me at http://notesfromafrica.wordpress.com and https://southerncape.wordpress.com (my photoblog)
This entry was posted in Nature ● Environment, Photography, Travel, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to De Hoop Nature Reserve

  1. Amazing photos, Lisa! The drfit wood is so wonderfully sculptural–and the beach (sand)–wrinkled and pleated like fabric! I wish my internet connection here in Haiti was fast enough to upload photos–so fun!

    • Thanks Kathy! Those are my two favourite photos too.

      You don’t have problems downloading posts with photos then? I do try and decrease the size of the original photos, so it’s not too much to download at once.

  2. Tracy Z says:

    wow – looks like an amazing place, wishing I could visit!

  3. Nice photos! Would love to see a close-up of “Windswept” and “Ripples in the Sand”.

  4. Lovely photos. I will definitely add this to my list of places I need to visit when I make it to Cape Town next year.

    • Thanks! If you need some input, I can draw up a list of places which I like. Don’t know how much time and opportunity you will have to travel?

      • If all goes as planned, I’d like to get there in mid-August and spend a couple of weeks. The study abroad program I’m applying for starts in September, but whether or not I get into that, I’d still like to visit. It’s been on my mind for a couple of years now.

  5. Oh, it all looks so beautiful. I’ve always heard how stunning De Hoop is but I’ve never been there. Thanks for sharing such outstanding natural beauty.
    Sunshine xx

Leave a Reply

